May 1, 2015

Finished objects

Posted in Knitting at 1:11 pm by dianelaces

I’ve had a couple of items finished for a while now that I keep forgetting to blog about.  These two items have been worn frequently since I finished them.

This shrug is called Verdant by Gina Bonomo.  I downloaded it as a free pattern because it called for the exact yardage of a mystery yarn that was taking up space in my stash.  It was a funny blue, worsted weight, somewhat thick-and-thin yarn that passed a burn test.  I never looked at shrug patterns because they always looked tight and too small and I didn’t think they would look good on my body.  I liked the look of the longer, flowing sleeves on this one.  I made it a little longer than the pattern called for to use up more of the yarn and I absolutely love it.  I wear it a lot – to work, bumming around, even over my pajamas!  There’s nothing better than when a project surpasses expectations like that.  You can see more info on my Ravelry project page.

wpid-img_20150314_084052_330-1.jpg

The next project is the lacy scarf that I’ve talked about before.  Once it was finished, blocked, and grafted I wore it for the next three days.  Surprisingly the color goes with quite a lot.  I like the reversible cables on the edge because they give it quite a bit of stability instead of it just lying limp around my neck.  And the narrow zigzag lace pattern shows up no matter how it drapes.  Since I love it so much and it was such an enjoyable knit I ran out and got another skein of the Winter Lace Junior yarn and am knitting it again in a different colorway.  This one will probably be a gift for someone.

wpid-img_20150418_090759_379.jpg

It pleases me so much when projects turn out better than I imagined!

Leave a Reply

