October 6, 2013

Baby knitting

Posted in Knitting at 9:56 am by dianelaces

When I was pregnant I wasn’t much of a knitter but I did crochet a blanket for the new babe.  This year I’ve had some friends that need baby items and I’ve made a discovery – baby knitting goes fast!  I’ve stretched my skills and learned a few things.

Rhonda has a new granddaughter, so I knit these little sweaters and hat from dishcloth cotton.

IMG_1026

Vicki is expecting a new grand-nephew and asked specifically for a sweater vest.  I couldn’t resist adding a little pair of socks.

IMG_1040

Angie has a new grandson and requested an aviator hat.  We had to have it in Pirate colors!

IMG_1052

And now I’m knitting a toy bunny.  This isn’t designated for any particular baby yet, I might just have to keep him for myself.

IMG_1085

I love knitting toys, but I hate the finishing work.  This is seamless all the way and so far it has been very fun.  I can imagine using up all my leftover sock yarn to make these little bunnies.

Here are the patterns I used:

One Baby Sweater by Erika Flory

Little Professor Vest by Christina Wall

Regan – Aviator Hat by Julie Taylor

Mini Sock Yarn Bunny by Susan B. Anderson

Leave a Reply

