January 6, 2013

Christmas gifting-knitting and bobbin lace

Posted in Bobbin Lace, Knitting at 3:27 pm by dianelaces

I tried to keep my Christmas gifting to a manageable level and was able to finish everything in plenty of time for the holiday.

I made fingerless mitts for my nieces and nephew.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A bobbin lace scarf for my mom.  I need to get a photo of her wearing it.

IMG_0957

Close up of the lace.  It’s a ‘s Gravenmoerse pattern.  It ended up about 60″ long and took me 60 hours to complete.  Now for the first time in forever I don’t have any bobbin lace projects on pillows.  I’m going to have to fix that really soon.  I loved working on this scarf so much that I think I’m going to make one for myself also.

IMG_0959

Also, two TARDIS hats (for son and nephew), lacy green Orenburg cuffs for my mother-in-law, and socks for Grandma.  Yes, the socks were done in time for Christmas, but I took the photo early because I had to get the other gifts wrapped.  I also knit a handful of Orenburg lace-style dish cloths.  None of them ended up as gifts, yet, but I like to have them on hand.  And they were great practice for my next project, an Orenburg lace stole, that I started on New Year’s.

IMG_0956

3 Comments »

  1. Erika Towle said,

    Wow you have been busy Lovely work! I have been wanting to knit some fingerless mittens but still looking for a beginner pattern that doesn’t use circulars or DPN, as I’m a newbie to knitting too! Love the ones you made w/ the paws on them & your lace scarf is stunning! So pretty
    ~Erika

    • dianelaces said,

      Thanks Erika! Those paw mitts are just a rectangle with the sides sewn up leaving a space for the thunb, so they can be done on straight needles. I have even done some where I knitted them plain and stitched the design on after the fact.

  2. notewords said,

    The lace scarf is amazing! So delicate.


Leave a Reply

