October 14, 2012

So pretty

Posted in Needle lace at 7:26 am by dianelaces

It’s a rainy fall day here in northern Illinois, but I just finished a

springtime flower.  This iris is done in Romanian Point lace and I’m extremely happy with the way it turned out.  I experimented with some new filling stitches and made buttonhole bars for the first time.  Overall I’m very happy with my stitch choices and my tension is good, except in one petal.

The pattern was designed by Bart Elwell and is available on the 2009 IOLI Convention CD.  If you belong to a charter chapter of the IOLI you can get this pattern from the CD your guild received at or after the 2009 convention. The flower is about 5″ tall.

I used Altin Basak threads, all size 50 in lavender, pale yellow, and green.  I wasn’t sure about using the pale yellow as the outline, but remembered in my Polychrome bobbin lace class they use yellow for the gimp thread on the theory that it makes the pattern “pop”.  I really like the effect it had here.  I hope my mom likes it for her yellow bedroom because I’m going to give it to her on Saturday for her birthday.  So I have a week to admire it and share with my crafty friends.

1 Comment »

  1. notewords said,

    Lovely. I think the colours work very well together.


Leave a Reply

