May 30, 2012

Recent projects

Posted in Bobbin Lace, Knitting at 7:55 pm by dianelaces

I haven’t been doing much stitching lately; too many good books to read.  But I have a square Romanian Point lace doily that is very close to finished, some knitted face cloths that just need the ends woven in, a finished bobbin lace bookmark that is going in the mail to my exchange partner, and a pair of knitted socks that have just gotten interesting.  I guess that’s a fair bit, but it still seems like low numbers to me.

Here are the face cloths that I’ve been knitting.  The Spa yarn is bamboo and acrylic and it has a really nice, soft drape and hand, even when wet.

I also finished a bobbin lace bookmark that is going to be sent to my exchange partner in England.  I hope she likes it.  This is one of my favorite patterns, designed by Susan Wenzel.

6 Comments »

  1. Jessica Dean said,

    Have you been able to find bobbin lace patterns/prickings from the 1860s? I would love to know if you have and where they might be. 🙂

    • dianelaces said,

      I don’t know of any patterns created in the 1860s because machine lace was becoming very fashionable then; it was the “new” thing. But for 1860s period I like Ipswich lace. These laces are from the 1790s and are in the Smithsonian. Karen Thompson is redrafting the patterns.

      • dianelaces said,

        One of my favorites is the Elizabeth Lord Lakeman lace. She died in 1862 and this pattern was on her pillow. It’s said she worked on it the day she died at age 90.

  2. Jessica Dean said,

    Thank you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

