March 4, 2010

Knitting a shawl

Posted in Bobbin Lace, Knitting at 5:22 pm by dianelaces

While I was waiting for the Olympics to start I needed a project to work on that didn’t take a lot of thinking.  I had this yarn that I had wound into balls and so I started the Pi Shawl by Elizabeth Zimmerman.  In the week before I started (and focused all my time on) the Ravelympics projects I got almost through the second lace pattern.  It’s so much fun to knit, just going around and around.  I just have to be careful that I have the correct number of stitches after working the increase row.  I forgot that lesson after I increased to 524 stitches and knit 4 plain rows.  When I started the 3rd lace pattern I had two extra stitches that I had to get rid of.  After much contemplation I decided to thread a lifeline in and rip back 4 rows.  It worked very well, and while the shawl was off the needles I got to lay it on the floor and get a sense of how it looks.

At this point it measured about 40″ across.  I’m pretty happy with how it looks and even if I don’t wear it very often I’m really having a good time knitting it.

I’ve also started teaching bobbin lace to a couple of friends.  I was able to get a little bit of work done on the Schneeberger bell that I mentioned last time.

Leave a Reply

