August 18, 2009

Schneeberger lace workshop

Posted in Bobbin Lace at 7:41 pm by dianelaces

Last weekend I was invited to attend a workshop held in Moline, Illinois with a group of local lacemakers and members of the Doris Southard Lace Guild from Iowa.  I’ve done some Schneeberger before; I took a class with Lia Baumeister-Jonker at my very first IOLI convention in Ann Arbor, Michigan in 1996.  At this year’s convention I bought a lovely book by Brigitte Bellon and I knew I needed to brush up on my technique before starting some of the great pieces in this book.

Jacquie was the host and we set up our pillows and stands in her living room.  We had some show and tell before lunch and then started the bookmark piece after lunch. 

IMG_2623

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2624

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got almost halfway through the piece in the afternoon and have worked on it some more since I got home.  I would like to finish it before going to make lace in Dubuque next Monday.

IMG_2625

Isn’t the wood in my pin pot gorgeous?  John Aebi does such a wonderful job with wood.  It was one of my purchases at convention.

1 Comment »

  1. craft said,

    thats really good. by doing this one keep himself as busy as one can


Leave a Reply

