August 2, 2009

Lace made at convention

Posted in Bobbin Lace at 8:02 pm by dianelaces

I just returned yesterday from the IOLI (International Old Lacers Inc.) convention held in Los Angeles.  It was a week of making lace, learning techniques, looking at lace displays, visiting with friends from all over that we only meet at convention, and buying lacemaking supplies from the excellent vendors.  I’m exhausted!

I took a 12-hour class in ‘s Gravenmoerse lace with Susan Wenzel.  I would have gladly taken the class all day if it had been offered, but I still managed to get a lot done in the afternoons on my own.  I completed the pendant and bracelet this week.  The bracelet was still on my pillow when I came home, but I proudly wore it today.

IMG_2573

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2613

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also took two bead knitting classes with Kathy Kirchner, but both those projects are only at the halfway stage, so I’ll post photos of them when they are done.

2 Comments »

  1. tatt3r said,

    Your bracelet is intriguing! How did you apply your lace to the backing? Is that felt? I love your colors. I’d love to see pictures of your bead knitting. I’ve yet to test those waters.

    BTW did you see my tatted bonnet at IOLI?

  2. tattingchic said,

    How fun that you were able to go! I soooooo wanted to go, but wasn’t feeling well enough to make the drive…BUMMER! It looks like you had fun. 🙂


Leave a Reply

