May 18, 2009

Thinking about lace…knitting

Posted in Knitting at 4:55 pm by dianelaces

I’m planning to go to the IOLI Convention (International Old Lacers Inc.) in Los Angeles this summer.  So, I thought I should have something lacy to wear to the banquet on the last evening.  That’s the time that everyone wears the lace they’ve made, purchased, or collected.  I thought a lace shawl would be too ambitious to finish before the end of July, so a lace scarf or stole would be perfect.  After searching around, I found this Lily of the Valley Estonian lace knitted scarf.  (It will look better when it’s blocked.)

IMG_2519

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I saw this sweet little pattern called Summer Lace Shawlette that I got from Knitting Daily.  It’s just a small shawl to throw over your shoulders and I thought it would be perfect for sitting in those overly air-conditioned classrooms during the convention.  And, I had enough of the yarn in my stash, so I started it this weekend as well.

IMG_2518

 

 

 

 

 

 

And, while I was admiring it and taking the photo I saw (gasp!) a giant hole in the stockinette area that goes over the shoulder!  Yes, this is lace, but there shouldn’t be a hole there in that spot!  So, I’ll be frogging back several rows. 

I’m mad at the shawl right now.  I think I’d rather put this project down for now and go wind bobbins to make some more bobbin lace bookmarks.

2 Comments »

  1. tatt3r said,

    I really like the Lily of the Valley scarf. I think it looks great, even before blocking! I’ve seen several shawlettes, and they are tempting. Now you’ve infected me with “start-itis”! Oh No! Must find yarn, Must find needles. Gasp!

  2. fatima said,

    hi, I liked the pattern, and I have a pluture to know pattern instruction
    thanks ( from Bahrain, Arabian Gulf )

    Middle East


Leave a Reply

