January 4, 2009

Startitis…I got it bad

Posted in Bobbin Lace, Knitting at 11:11 am by dianelaces

Wow, I woke up this morning and I am just jumping around planning more projects that I want to start on.  It probably didn’t help that I had two pots of Scottish breakfast tea when usually I have one cup of Lipton decaf!

Since I finished my socks, I have to get another pair of socks on the needles really quick-like.  It seems to be Ted’s turn, so I’ll start a pair of toe up socks in the lovely Socrates yarn he bought me for Christmas.  I’ll knit a plain foot and have plenty of time to think about the pattern on the leg.  I counted and realized that I knit 11 (that’s ELEVEN!) pairs of socks in 2008.  Wow, some kind of record for me.  I think I’ve been more prolific since I started knitting two socks at once.

I am knitting a lace scarf for the Read-a-long on Ravelry of the book The Lace Reader.  Actually, I’m listening to it on audio so I can knit at the same time.  The pattern is a traditional Estonian Stork’s Nest by Nancy Bush that was in the January/February 2008 issue of Piecework magazine.  I am really enjoying it.  The 12-row repeat goes quickly so I can pick it up and put it down without a huge time commitment.

2008-00014

2008-00013

Last summer I bought a pattern and yarn for a vest for myself.  I’ve swatched twice, but couldn’t get gauge so I put it down and started my Christmas knitting.  I better get back to it or I won’t be able to wear it at all this winter!  Maybe I’ll go to knit night at Fiber Wild and get going again.

2008-00019

And my poor bobbin lace pillow is feeling very neglected lately.  I did do some lace during the holidays when I really needed to clear my mind from the multitude of lists for Christmas preparation.  But I went to lacing at Borders last Monday night and got that itch to start something new.  I bought this pattern and the fan to mount it on at the IOLI convention last August.   It’s ‘s Gravenmoer lace worked in a very fine thread.  I think I’ll start getting the pricking ready when I go to sewing tomorrow night and wind bobbins during the week.  That way I should be able to set aside a chunk of time to start it before I go to Borders at the end of this month.  Yay!

2008-00017

2008-00018

1 Comment »

  1. Lori Weber said,

    I love the Peruvia yarn that you chose for your vest. I completed an “Einstein Coat” in brown Peruvia last spring. I can’t wait until fall so I can enjoy it’s warmth.
    Good luck with the vest!


Leave a Reply

