August 10, 2008

IOLI Convention

Posted in Tatting at 3:29 pm by dianelaces

The convention is over and it was a very busy week.  Janice, Jan, Brenda, Kris, and Sylvie all worked really hard and were extraordinarily organized, I thought.  It was a great thing to be a part of and I admit there was a little let-down when it was all over with.  I hope everyone who attended got home safely.  I had show and tell at home with all the things I bought and have already started preparing a pricking so I can get a new pattern going on the pillow.

One of the best parts was connecting with members of the newly chartered Doris Southard Lace Guild.  There are a couple in Dubuque who meet regularly and I hope to join them later this month.

I took 2 tatting self-improvement classes with Georgia Seitz.  While I didn’t complete many projects I learned so many techniques that are absolutely inspiring.  Things I’ve read about but never done like encapsulation and self-closing mock rings.  We did great things with picots, see the interlaced picots below.  I needed something to rejuvenate my tatting and this class really fit the bill. 

 

The convention started with a welcome by President and Mrs. Lincoln:

 

More later…

Leave a Reply

