September 12, 2007

Cruising on my lace

Posted in Bobbin Lace at 5:42 am by dianelaces

My ‘s Gravenmoerse lace for the hul (bonnet) is going very well!  I’m amazed at how quickly this pattern works.  I have nearly 11 inches done toward my goal of one yard.  I’m working the windmill section of the repeat now and have finally found a comfort level of managing all these bobbins on my bolster pillow.  I definitely think I’m going to invest in a wide roller or block pillow when the IOLI Convention comes to Rockford, IL next year.  I had hoped to get the lace done by Christmas and then have a couple of months to put the bonnet together – at this point I feel very good about the timetable.

The blue that you see under the lace is the pricking (pattern).  Otherwise the pattern of the lace did not show up when I took the photo.

img_1731.jpg

img_1730.jpg

3 Comments »

  1. Florence said,

    Hi,
    Love your lace.
    I’m a begginner lace maker, working on bucks point right now, I did buy a s’Gravenmore book and can’t figure it out, all I need to know is, is it worked diagonally or straight across since it’s honey comb stitches and it says to start in the middle of the top HUH??? LOL
    Please help.
    How long have you been doing lace, your work is absolutely gorgeous.
    Thank you for any help you can give me, there is nobody where I live who does this, so I’ve been learning with video and books.
    Hope to hear from you soon.
    Sincerely, Flo

  2. guzzisue said,

    this is one serious piece of lace 🙂

  3. Tsampara sofia said,

    I AM A MEMBER OF OIDFA.
    I BEGAN A LACE OF GRAVENMOERE.
    I DID ONLY THE 1/3 OF IT. IT WAS A BOOKMARK BUT ENLARGED.
    I STOPPED TO WORK IT A LITTLE BEFORE BE CRASY.!!!!
    I HAD PROBLEM WITH THE CORNER, OUTER, LEFT, OF THE DIAMOND.
    THE PRICKING WAS AN – S -.
    DO YOU HAVE AN IDEA WHICH IS THE CLICK OF DOING IT??

    WHILE THANKING YOU,
    FROM GREECE

    SOFIA


Leave a Reply

