February 12, 2007

Finished my vest

Posted in Knitting at 1:29 pm by dianelaces

My completed vest

I have just officially finished my first knitted garment…if you don’t count socks.  I knitted myself a vest from a Lion Brand pattern that I picked up for free in the fabric store.  I’m happy with it.  We are off work today for Lincoln’s birthday (love working for the government) and I decided it would be a perfect time to finish the vest.  I blocked the pieces last night because I figured it would be easier to sew the seams without pulling if all the pieces were blocked to the correct size.  I got out my trusty “Stitch and Bitch” book and followed the instructions for the side and shoulder seams.  The pattern calls for one button at the neck, but instead I decided to use a pretty wooden shawl pin that I got at the local yarn store, Fiber Wild.  I think I’ll wear it to my knitting class tonight.

I made lots of progress on my baby surprise jacket, so I’m at a good place for Amy’s help at tonight’s class.

1 Comment »

  1. Lisa Prindle said,

    Diane, your vest is lovely! I don’t recall you working on this at Monday night sewing! Be sure to wear it some time so we can all see it.


Leave a Reply

