November 8, 2013

Retreat weekend is here!

Posted in Bobbin Lace, Tatting at 8:25 am by dianelaces

I’m Retreating with the Doris Southard Lace Guild this weekend in Dubuque.  It starts tonight but I decided to take the day off so I could get packed and decide what I’m going to work on.  Good thing, because here I am at 8 a.m. and I have no idea what I’m going to do!  Last year I had the big scarf project planned, but this year I’m just dithering.  Nothing on my pillows but an ornament, so I think I’m going to finish that and try to make a few more.  I’m getting excited; finished sewing the lace on my nametag this morning.  The nametag is very old (1995 or 1996?) and the lace is very well-traveled.  It’s a piece of Ipswich lace that I made and it went to Japan for the OIDFA conference a few years ago as a part of the American lace display.  It just happened to fit around my nametag.  I love the nametag because it has both a bobbin lace pillow and a tatting shuttle on it to show both my passions.  Hopefully I will have some finished lace to show after the weekend!

nametag

2 Comments »

  1. Cheryl anderson said,

    May I save the picture of your name tag to show to my lace group? The Alamo Bobbin Lacers have been working making name tags for ourselves and I think yours is a great example!

    • dianelaces said,

      Sure Cheryl, I’m honored! I will post some photos of evryone else’s nametags after the weekend. It was our President’s “challenge” to have one for the retreat.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

