September 3, 2013

Presents in the mail!

Posted in Knitting at 6:48 pm by dianelaces

Today I got some presents in the mail. I started following the blog whatimuptotoday and she held a drawing for a giveaway amongst the followers of her blog. Sarah contacted me and asked me a few questions and today I got a sweet little package in the mail. I got a red knitted scarf! Red is my favorite color :)
IMG_1042

It’s silk and mohair and lightweight and warm and luscious!

I also got some handmade cards.  The funny thing is, Ted and I have been talking about the horrible selection of greeting cards we find in the stores and have made a pact to try and use or find handmade cards whenever we can.  These will be put to very good use.

IMG_1043

So, Sarah, thank you for your lovely and generous gift.  It makes me smile every time I see it.  You made my day.  Everyone, please check out Sarah’s blog, whatimuptotoday!

4 Comments »

  1. salpal1 said,

    Yea! It made it safely. Sorry it took me so long, I waited to find out your favorite colors before I started it. The scarf looks beautiful on you!And I am so glad you like the cards! I had fun making those, too, but wasn’t sure they would be anything you could use. If you want to make cards, and don’t already have a room full of fun stuff to do it with, start at your local scrapbooking store – it’s how I got going – scrapbooking was just too much work for me, but I found I love making cards. :-)

  2. salpal1 said,

    Reblogged this on whatimuptotoday and commented:
    Check out this post – This is what Diane got in the mail from me to celebrate my 100 followers. The scarf is two strands – one silk, one silk mohair – got it from Halcyon Yarn on Bath (Maine) and LOVED working with it. I’ll get more. I also sent her some handmade cards, unsure if they would be something she would like – turns out, she does, so I am feeling good about the things I chose to make for her.

    • dianelaces said,

      My MIL is infatuated with the scarf, do you know stitch you used? She wants to make one for a friend and I’m afraid she’ll sneak mine into her car when she leaves!

      • salpal1 said,

        I am glad she likes it! It is a really easy pattern, k 2 together, yo across the row, every row. I am just trying to remember if I started with on odd or even number of stitches. :-) You might find this on Ravelry, I think I found a similar one when I googled Mesh scarf, and I think it was called weekend scarf or something similar. I used a lighter yarn that the pattern called for, on larger needles than it would have demanded normally, so it would be lacy looking. Hope this helps!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

